Menu Close

ODI Cricket World Cup Winners List from 1975 to 2023

Buttons with 3D Effect

In this comprehensive article, we present the complete ODI Cricket World Cup Winners List, capturing the exhilarating spirit of cricket as it reaches new heights in the ongoing World Cup 2023. This marks the 13th edition of the Cricket World Cup, set to culminate on 19 November 2023 with an epic final between India and Australia. The inaugural ICC ODI Cricket World Cup took place in 1975 in England, featuring a series of one-day matches with 60 overs per side.

Evolution of the ODI Cricket World Cup

In 1987, the tournament found its way to India and Pakistan, accompanied by a reduction in overs per side to 50. Since then, the ODI Cricket World Cup has witnessed numerous memorable moments, with one of the most cherished being the triumphant team lifting the coveted title. This article aims to chronicle all the ODI Cricket World Cup Winners, spanning from 1975 to 2023.

Brief Overview of Cricket World Cup 2023

The ICC Men’s World Cup 2023, scheduled from 5 October to 19 November 2023, has kept fans on the edge of their seats. The much-anticipated final match on 19 November 2023 will see India and Australia battling for glory. Australia, to date, holds the record for the most World Cup victories, boasting a remarkable tally of 5 titles. In 2007, Australia achieved unprecedented success with three consecutive triumphs. India and West Indies follow closely with two World Cup victories each, in 1983 and 2011 for India, and 1975 and 1979 for West Indies. The most recent World Cup in 2019 was clinched by England.

  BSSC Inter Level Syllabus 2023: Topic-wise And Exam Pattern

ODI Cricket World Cup Winners List: 1975 to 2023

Here is the complete list of ODI Cricket World Cup Winners from 1975 to 2023:

Year Host Winner Score Runner-up Score Result
1975 England West Indies 291–8 Australia 274 West Indies won by 17 runs
1979 England West Indies 286–9 England 194 West Indies won by 92 runs
1983 England India 183 West Indies 140 India won by 43 runs
1987 India and Pakistan Australia 253–5 England 246–8 Australia won by 7 runs
1992 Australia and NZ Pakistan 249–6 England 227 Pakistan won by 22 runs
1996 Pakistan and India Sri Lanka 245–3 Australia 241 Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets
1999 England Australia 133–2 Pakistan 132 Australia won by 8 wickets
2003 South Africa Australia 359–2 India 234 Australia won by 125 runs
2007 West Indies Australia 281–4 Sri Lanka 215–8 Australia won by 53 runs
2011 India and Bangladesh India 277–4 Sri Lanka 274–6 India won by 6 wickets
2015 Australia and NZ Australia 186–3 New Zealand 183 Australia won by 7 wickets
2019 England and Wales England 241 New Zealand 241–8 Match tied; England won on boundary count
2023 India

Cricket World Cup Winners: Country-Wise Results

Australia’s dominance is evident in the ODI World Cup, with 7 final appearances, 5 victories, and 2 runner-up positions. India and West Indies follow suit with 3 and 2 titles respectively. The following table provides a detailed breakdown of Cricket World Cup Winners in a country-wise manner:

  IDBI Executive Salary 2023: Pay Scale, Job Profile, Perks
Team Final Appearances Winners Runners Years Won Years Runners
Australia 7 5 2 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015 1975, 1996
England 4 1 3 2019 1979, 1987, 1992
India 3 2 1 1983, 2011 2003
New Zealand 2 0 2 2015, 2019
Pakistan 2 1 1 1992 1999
Sri Lanka 3 1 2 1996 2007, 2011
West Indies 3 2 1 1975, 1979 1983

ODI Cricket World Cup Winner 2023

The world awaits the revelation of the next ODI Cricket World Cup Winner on 19 November 2023. The Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, India, serves as the battleground for this prestigious event. The first semifinal clash, held on 15 November 2023, witnessed India defeating New Zealand by 70 runs. The ultimate champion will be declared after the final match on 19 November 2023, concluding the ODI Cricket World Cup 2023.

Whatsapp Group
Telegram channel
Buttons with 3D Effect

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *