Menu Close

List of Presidents of India From 1950 to 2023, Check Complete List

Buttons with 3D Effect

The position of the President in India is of utmost significance, serving as both the Head of the State and the Head of the Government. This article presents a comprehensive list of Presidents of India from 1950 to 2023, highlighting their contributions and the historical context in which they served.

General Awareness Importance

General Awareness is a crucial section in various government sector exams, including banking and SSC exams. Success in interviews often hinges on a candidate’s general awareness. This section not only tests knowledge but also awareness of current events. Hence, a thorough preparation of this section is vital for success in both the main examination and interviews.

The Role of the President

The President, as the constitutional head of India’s parliamentary system, represents the nation globally. It’s important to note that while the President symbolizes the country, the actual power lies with the council of ministers.

List of Presidents: 1950 to 2023

1. Dr. Rajendra Prasad (1950-1962)

Dr. Rajendra Prasad, the first President of the Republic of India, played a vital role in the noncooperation movement for independence alongside Mahatma Gandhi. A politician, lawyer, and journalist, he was also the President of the Indian National Congress party.

Starting Date Closing Date Profile
January 26, 1950 May 13, 1962 First President of the Republic of India
  BSSC Inter Level Syllabus 2023: Topic-wise And Exam Pattern

2. Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan (1962-1967)

Elected as the second President, Dr. Radhakrishnan, an Indian philosopher and statesman, previously served as the first Vice President of India.

Starting Date Closing Date Profile
May 13, 1962 May 13, 1967 Philosopher and statesman

3. Dr. Zakir Hussain (1967-1969)

Dr. Zakir Hussain, the first Muslim President, had a short-lived presidency due to his untimely death. He was also Vice-Chancellor of Aligarh Muslim University.

Whatsapp Group
Telegram channel
Starting Date Closing Date Profile
May 13, 1967 May 3, 1969 First Muslim President of India

4. Varahagiri Venkata Giri (1969-1974)

Varahagiri Venkata Giri, the fourth President, initially served as an acting President after the death of Zakir Hussain.

Starting Date Closing Date Profile
August 24, 1969 August 24, 1974 Fourth President of India

5. Mohammad Hidayatullah (Acting: July 20, 1969 – August 24, 1969)

Acting President between Giri’s presidencies, Mohammad Hidayatullah served briefly.

6. Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed (1974-1977)

Dr. Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed, the fifth President, faced controversy during the proclamation of emergency in 1975.

Starting Date Closing Date Profile
August 24, 1974 February 11, 1977 Fifth President of India

7. Basappa Danappa Jatti (Acting: February 11, 1977 – July 25, 1977)

Chief Minister of Mysore turned President after Ahmed’s death.

8. Neelam Sanjiva Reddy (1977-1982)

Neelam Sanjiva Reddy, the sixth President, served unopposed and was associated with both Janata Party and Indian National Congress.

Starting Date Closing Date Profile
July 25, 1977 July 25, 1982 Sixth President of India

9. Giani Zail Singh (1982-1987)

Giani Zail Singh, the seventh President, faced a controversial period marked by Operation Blue Star.

Starting Date Closing Date Profile
July 25, 1982 July 25, 1987 Seventh President of India

10. Ramaswamy Venkataraman (1987-1992)

Ramaswamy Venkataraman, a freedom fighter, was the eighth President and held various key positions before his presidency.

Starting Date Closing Date Profile
July 25, 1987 July 25, 1992 Eighth President of India

11. Shankar Dayal Sharma (1992-1997)

Shankar Dayal Sharma, the ninth President, had a diverse political career, serving as Vice President and Chief Minister.

Starting Date Closing Date Profile
July 25, 1992 July 25, 1997 Ninth President of India
  BSSC Inter Level Salary 2023: Pay Scale, In-hand Salary, and Benefits

12. Kocheril Raman Narayanan (1997-2002)

Kocheril Raman Narayanan, the tenth President, was a distinguished diplomat and the first from the Dalit community to hold the post.

Starting Date Closing Date Profile
July 25, 1997 July 25, 2002 Tenth President of India

13. Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam (2002-2007)

Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam, the eleventh President, was a renowned scientist and played a key role in India’s missile development.

Starting Date Closing Date Profile
July 25, 2002 July 25, 2007 Eleventh President of India

14. Pratibha Patil (2007-2012)

Pratibha Patil, the twelfth President, made history as the first woman to hold the position.

Starting Date Closing Date Profile
July 25, 2007 July 25, 2012 Twelfth President of India

15. Pranab Mukherjee (2012-2017)

Dr. Pranab Mukherjee, the thirteenth President, was a senior leader of the Indian National Congress party.

Starting Date Closing Date Profile
July 25, 2012 July 25, 2017 Thirteenth President of India

16. Shri Ram Nath Kovind (2017-2022)

Ram Nath Kovind, the fourteenth President, served as the 36th Governor of Bihar and was a member of Parliament and Rajya Sabha.

Starting Date Closing Date Profile
July 25, 2017 July 25, 2022 Fourteenth President of India

17. Draupadi Murmu (2022-Present)

Draupadi Murmu, the fifteenth President, is the first tribal and second woman to hold the office.

Starting Date Status Profile
July 25, 2022 Working Fifteenth President of India

Eligibility Criteria for President of India

The Indian constitution, in Article 58, outlines the eligibility rules for the President of India. Key criteria include:

  • The President must be a citizen of India.
  • The President must be above 35 years of age.
  • The President should be a member of the Lok Sabha and qualified for standing in elections.
  • The President should not hold any office of profit under the State Government, Union, and other local authorities.

Position of the President

The President holds the highest honor, dignity, and prestige in the nation. As the head of the state, all executive power of the Union is vested in the President. Key powers and responsibilities include:

  • Serving as the supreme commander of the Armed Forces.
  • Granting assent to bills passed by Parliament for them to become laws.
  • Having the power to grant pardons, reprives, respites, or remissions of punishment.
  • Proclaiming a state of Emergency or financial emergency in the country.

Election and Tenure

The President of India is elected indirectly by an Electoral College through a proportional representation system using a single transferable vote system. The President is elected for a tenure of 5 years but is eligible for immediate re-election, with no limit on the number of terms.

In conclusion, the List of Presidents of India reflects the diverse and dynamic leadership that has shaped the nation since its independence in 1947. Each President has left a unique imprint on the country, contributing to its growth and development.

Buttons with 3D Effect

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *