Highlights of 77th Independence Day of India on August 15, 2023


77th Independence Day Celebrations and Announcements

The Central Government commemorated the 77th Independence Day at the iconic Red Fort in New Delhi, where Prime Minister Narendra Modi addressed the nation.

Theme: Nation First, Always First

The 2023 Independence Day celebrations centered around the theme “Nation First, Always First,” in line with the ongoing ‘Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav’ festivities, initiated in 2021.

Significance of 2023

This year marked India’s 77th Independence Day and the 76th anniversary of Indian Independence. The first anniversary was commemorated a year after the actual event in 1948.

Highlights of the Event:

  • HAR GHAR TRINGA Campaign: Prime Minister Modi introduced the “HAR GHAR TRINGA” campaign, encouraging citizens to proudly display the tricolor flag in their homes.
  • Prime Minister’s Address: PM Modi delivered his 10th consecutive Independence Day address, spanning 90 minutes on August 15.
  • Ceremonial Gun Salute: The national flag was hoisted amidst a 21-gun salute by the elite 8,711 Field Battery (Ceremonial), utilizing Indian 105-mm Light Field Guns for the first time.
  • Floral Arrangements: The Red Fort’s adornment included the striking G20 logo.
  • Cultural Representation: 75 couples dressed in traditional attire participated in the ceremony.
  • Public Engagement: Citizens were encouraged to click selfies with the flag, sharing them on official websites and social media using campaign hashtags.

Vishwakarma Yojana for Craftsmanship

PM Modi announced the “Vishwakarma Yojana,” targeting traditional craftsmen like weavers, goldsmiths, blacksmiths, barbers, and more. A budget allocation of Rs 13,000 to Rs 15,000 crore is dedicated to this scheme.

Key Points:

  • The scheme’s launch is scheduled on Vishwakarma Jayanti (September 17, 2023).
  • It aims to enhance artisans’ products and services, integrating them into local and global value chains, and economically empowering marginalized communities.

Scheme for Drone Training for Women SHGs

The Central Government is set to introduce a scheme to equip women-led Self-Help Groups (SHGs) with agri-drones, promoting technology use in agriculture and agritech.

Key Points:

  • Training: Recipients will undergo training in operating and repairing Unmanned Aerial Vehicles (UAVs).
  • Coverage: Initially, 15,000 SHGs will benefit from this initiative.

New Urban Housing Scheme

The government plans to assist urban families living in rented accommodations to build their own homes. The scheme offers interest subsidies on bank loans to urban poor and middle-class families who wish to construct their homes.

President’s Awards to Indian Coast Guard

President Droupadi Murmu approved one President’s Tatrakshak Medal (PTM) and five Tatrakshak Medals (TM) for Indian Coast Guard personnel, recognizing their gallantry and meritorious service.

President’s Awards to Armed Forces and CAPFs Personnel

The President sanctioned 76 Gallantry awards for Armed Forces and Central Armed Police Forces (CAPF) personnel, acknowledging acts of bravery and dedication. The list includes Kirti Chakra, Shaurya Chakra, Sena Medals, Nao Sena Medals, and Vayu Sena Medals.

Fire Service Medals and Home Guards & Civil Defense Medals

The President awarded 53 individuals with Fire Service Medals and 48 personnel/volunteers with Home Guards & Civil Defense Medals for their commendable service.

Other Highlights:

  • The “Vibrant Villages” initiative was showcased, focusing on transforming border villages’ perspectives.
  • The “Vibrant Villages Program (VVP)” aims to develop select villages in northern border states.

Historical Background: Independence Day of India

  • India was declared independent from British colonialism on August 15, 1947.
  • The Indian Independence Bill came into effect, creating India and Pakistan as independent nations.
  • Jawaharlal Nehru hoisted the national flag at the Red Fort, a tradition continued by subsequent Prime Ministers.

About Delhi:

  • New Delhi is the National Capital of India.
  • Lieutenant Governor: Vinai Kumar Saxena
  • Chief Minister: Arvind Kejriwal


Leave a comment